Less Than Loved? Genesis 2:18

My husband and I don’t have that fairy tale kind of marriage and we didn’t start that way, either. I do see this kind, though, with couples holding hands, looking into each other’s eyes with a twinkle, even in their older years. And I have wondered what that would’ve been like.

What we have is a love set for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness, in health, to love and to cherish, till death do us part. Our love is a love to care for each other because God put us together and because He loves us and takes care of us. We know that and we must keep that in our focus first. We have talked about this and pray about it all the time. We love and have submitted to each other as a man and woman are commanded in Ephesians 5. It’s God and His guidance that keep us together. He helps us maintain our focus on Him so we can keep our hearts focused on each other. And we must never look away. Because if and when we take our eyes off Him, we fail. But He is a loving God, and He always brings us back.

Through it all, the ups and downs, the smiles, the tears, sobs, and laughter, we know there’s no other way of living life than with each other. We both would have it no other way.

The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.” Genesis 2:18.

I am my husband’s helper. And with this, we submit to each other, as Paul explains from God’s instructions in Ephesians 5:21. Those fairy tale marriages are a blessing. They are so special. But marriage is so much more than finding your Cinderella or Prince Charming. So, no matter how your love started or where it is now, it’s important for a marriage to have its magic from God, like ours. I do hope you have love and happiness in your marriage but more than that I hope you have God.

So, am I less than loved? Or more than most!

Happy Anniversary to my only and always Love!

Leave a comment