Dear Abby,

I’m writing in response to the letter from “Can’t Forget in Virginia.” I am sorry to read about her emotional turmoil. I too came out and told about my moments similar to those of #MeToo a little over two years ago when I published my book, Unraveled, Time to Tell by Lisa Lynn which is a pen name. The secrets I had kept were finally out. I didn’t name people and I didn’t proceed with filing lawsuits or seeking revenge. My healing had begun and was completed years before but with sharing and helping others I was given an assurance of unbelievable peace. I knew I was doing exactly what I needed to be doing. I know it’s a good positive way to start the healing process by sharing and I also know the closing of the wound doesn’t always come from revenge, in fact, very rarely will revenge bring about peace and happiness. There’s only one way to do this and Jesus tells us this way in John 16:33, “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage, I have overcome the world.” And Paul tells us in Ephesians 4:31-32, “Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. And be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving each other, just as God in Christ also has forgiven you.”

I hope and pray this lady in Virginia can work out her emotions because carrying the wrong emotions in our hearts destroy us just like the rape, attempted rape, assault, or the harassment does, especially when we hide it inside. I also pray for the ladies of the #MeToo movement, and the men, who are finally sharing their stories and my prayer is that they can find forgiveness in their hearts because that is where true healing begins. And this forgiveness is not only for our perpetrators but also for ourselves because of the emotions of hatred, bitterness, anger, and more that we harbor in our hearts.

Isaac Friedmann gave us a unique perspective of this in his quote, “Forgiveness is the sweetest revenge.”

Signed, 

Forgive to Forge Forward

Leave a comment